Michael J. Fox will receive an honorary Oscar for his work on Parkinson’s disease

The actor will receive an honorary Oscar at this year’s Governors Awards, alongside songwriter Diane Warren and directors Euzhan Palcy and Peter Weir, the Academy announced on Wednesday.

The Academy’s Board of Governors selected the winners for their “indelible contributions to film and the world at large”.

Fox, who founded the Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s Research in 2000 and was diagnosed with the disease in 1991, will receive the Academy’s Hersholt Humanitarian Award

“Fox’s tireless advocacy for Parkinson’s disease research, coupled with his boundless optimism, exemplifies the impact of one person in changing the future of millions of people,” said the President of the Academy, David Rubin, in a statement.

Fox, who rose to fame as Alex P. Keaton in “Family Ties” and numerous other television series, is also known for his work as Marty McFly in the “Back to the Future” franchise. He’s won five Emmys, four Golden Globes, a Grammy, and two Screen Actors Guild Awards, but he’s never been nominated for an Oscar.

The awards will be presented at the Academy’s Governors Awards in Los Angeles on November 19.


Related Articles

Back to top button