The Sultan Azlan Shah Cup returns after a two-year hiatus, starting November 16

After a two-year hiatus, the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup, an annual invitation-only international men’s hockey competition, will return in November this year. Due to COVID, the famous competition has not taken place in the previous two years; South Korea had won the previous title, while India finished second.

“We are all set to host the Premier Azlan Shah Cup in November this year. We have invited six teams including India and Australia and we hope our invitation will be accepted,” a Federation official said. Asian Hockey at PTI. India has been invited to participate in the contest, which will take place in Ipoh, Malaysia, from November 16-25.

India have won the tournament five times since it began as a biannual event in 1983, however, Australia have won the most titles with 10. South Korea and Pakistan shared the honor three times each. Meanwhile, 2022 Commonwealth Games gold medalists Australia, India, Germany, New Zealand and Canada are the five teams invited to play with Malaysia this year.

As for the 2019 edition, India lost the final to South Korea 4-2 in the shootout after being held 1-1 in regular time. Forward Mandeep Singh finished with the most goals – seven, along with South Korea’s Jang Jong-hyun, while India’s Surender Kumar was declared player of the tournament.

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here

Sport gb1

Back to top button