Warnie’s Romanian ‘spin twin’ with unsightly action trying to force his way into BBL draft

A Romanian spinner famous/infamous for one of the most unsightly bowling actions ever seen on a cricket pitch is trying his luck in the upcoming Big Bash League draft.

Pavel Florin’s bowling action was the subject of much perplexity when footage of him bowling in the European Cricket League went viral a few years ago.

A cricket-loving Transylvania nightclub bouncer, the 43-year-old has emailed BBL boss Alistair Dobson asking to be considered in the competition’s first draft next month.

He is highly unlikely to be selected by any of the eight franchises, but the BBL are open to giving him a role as an ambassador for the competition given his unique place on the world cricketing scene. .

When Florin’s action was ridiculed, some of the game’s biggest names rallied behind him, including the late Shane Warne, who offered a helping hand.

“If you need a helping hand, hit me up,” he tweeted shortly after Florin’s bowling action became a global hit.

Florin and Warne finally met and the Romanian posted a photo of the two of them together, celebrating their shared love of the sport.

Florin has built up a fanbase on social media with over 10,000 followers on Twitter

He was even featured by the ICC for his exploits in 2019.

“Every night I work as a bodyguard and take care of people. But the reality is that I love sport and sport is my real job. My bowling action is not beautiful but I don’t care. record because I love cricket,” he said in the interview.

“I was having lunch when some of my friends came over and told me I was making headlines about cricket. Later a TV crew appeared and started asking questions. I said how I felt about the criticism of my style of bowling, until then no one had ever noticed me, let alone wanted to interview me about playing cricket.

Nearly 200 players have been nominated for the BBL Draft with England power hitter Liam Livingstone likely to be taken with the top pick.

A BBL draft lottery took place last week with the Melbourne Renegades scoring the No. 1 selection ahead of cross-town rivals the Stars.

Brisbane Heat will select third, followed by the Sixers, Strikers, Scorchers, Thunder and Hurricanes.

The inaugural draft will be televised on Fox Cricket on August 28.

Nine of Livingstone’s compatriots are eligible to be retained by their BBL franchises:

Joe Clarke (Melbourne Stars)
Ian Cockbain (Adelaide Strikers)
Jordan Cox (Hobart Hurricanes)
Laurie Evans (Perth Scorchers)
George Garton (Adelaide Strikers)
Alex Hales (Sydney Thunder)
Tymal Mills (Perth Scorchers)
Reece Topley (Melbourne Renegades)
James Vince (Sydney Sixers)

Other big names nominated include West Indies all-rounders Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard, former Proteas skipper Faf du Plessis, New Zealand hitter Colin Munro and Afghan spinner Rashid Khan.

BBL player acquisition consultant Trent Woodhill says the competition will be invigorated by the addition of the draft.

“The level of nominations from England is exceptional, headlined by Liam Livingstone and Alex Hales, two of the world’s best T20 players.

“The list is also filled with players who have shown outstanding recent form in other recent domestic competitions. We know England are a proven producer of top T20 talent.

The full list of nominated players


Qais Ahmad, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Waqarullah Ishaq, Rashid Khan, Izharulhaq Naveed, Naveen Ul Haq Murid, Hazratullah Zazai


Colin Ackermann (also Netherlands), Rehan Ahmed, Martin Andersson, Gus Atkinson, Josh Baker, Sonny Baker, Jake Ball, James Bracey, Danny Briggs, Henry Brookes, Brydon Carse, Matthew Carter, Jordan Clark, Joe Clarke, Josh Cobb , Ian Cockbain, Jordan Cox, Mason Crane, Matt Critchley, Liam Dawson, Brett D’oliveira, Jacobus Leus Du Plooy, Stephen Eskinazi, Laurie Evans, Matt Fisher, James Fuller, George Garton, Richard Gleeson, Lewis Gregory, Sam Hain, Alex Hales, Miles Hammond, Tom Hartley, Jack Haynes, Freddie Heldreich, Tom Helm, Ryan Higgins, Max Holden, Benny Howell, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Danny Lamb, Jack Leaning, Jake Lintott, Liam Livingstone, Lewis Mcmanus, Ben Mike, Tymal Mills, Daniel Mousley, Steven Mullaney, Callum Parkinson, Matt Parkinson, David Payne, Michael Pepper, Ollie Pope, Matthew Potts, Ben Raine, Adam Rossington, George Scrimshaw, John Simpson, Prem Sisodiya, Olly Stone, Tommy Taylor, Reece Topley , Liam Trevaskis, James Vince, Joe Weatherley, Ross Whiteley, Chris Wo od, Luke Wood, Saif Zaib


David Wiese (formerly South Africa)

New Zealand

Todd Astle Colin Munro

South Africa

Marchant de Lange, Faf du Plessis, Rilee Rossouw

West Indies

Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Chemar Holder, Akeal Hosein, Evin Lewis, Anderson Phillip, Kieron Pollard, Khary Pierre, Ravi Rampaul, Sherfane Rutherford, Jayden Seales, Kevin Sinclair, Tion Webster, Nyeem Young

Sport gb1

Back to top button